6 Key Technology Certifications and What They Mean To You

by | Feb 23, 2016 | IT Services

Whether you employ an in-house IT team or outsource with a Managed Service Provider, keeping up with changing technology is imperative. Choosing infrastructure solutions for your company can be difficult enough, but the number of options available can confuse even the best IT team. And, once you’ve chosen a solution, updates, expansions, and new releases are becoming more and more frequent, making maintenance time consuming and expensive. This is why it is so important to be able to understand and support any software or hardware solution your company decides to implement.

Technology certifications are important because they validate your IT provider’s skills and understanding of the software and hardware solutions in the marketplace. The different certifications cover multiple roles within an IT support organization – from Help Desk to Architect. All of these certifications are extremely important if you are looking for an end-to-end technology services provider.

1. CompTIA A+ Certification

CompTIA A+ certification is a building block for basic technology hardware support. In short, a CompTIA A+ Certified technician will be able to repair, maintain, install, and troubleshoot a computer’s hardware components. They will, essentially, be able to tear it apart and then correctly put it back together with ease.

2. CompTIA Network+ Certification

CompTIA Network+ certification is a building block for basic technology software support. CompTIA Network+ certification typically goes hand in hand with A+ and certifies a technician to repair, maintain, install and troubleshoot your basic network infrastructure.

These CompTIA certifications should be on your list of minimum requirements for your IT provider. They are critical to the success of a technology provider’s Help Desk team. Companies such as Revolution Group, require technicians to achieve these certifications and build upon them with other, more in-depth certifications.

3. MCSA Certification – Microsoft Certified Solutions Associate

An MCSA Certification teaches the basics of Microsoft software. It tests the technicians’ knowledge of servers, clients, and infrastructure. In order for an IT support technician to obtain their MCSA certification, he or she must pass a series of four tests. The MCSA certification has evolved as new software releases became available and is typically associated with a year that represents the operating system for which the applicant tested. This certification may also be referred to as Microsoft Certified Systems Administrator.

4. MCSE Certification – Microsoft Certified Solutions Expert (formerly Microsoft Certified Systems Engineer)

An MCSE certification follows similar guidelines as MCSA in that it is the same series of testing, but two additional tests are added to focus the certification topic. An MCSE certification provides the applicant with a deeper understanding of a specific aspect of Microsoft’s network such as SharePoint, Business Intelligence, or Enterprise Devices.

The main difference between certifications 3 and 4 is that one is an “associate” level and one is an “expert” level. An expert is certified in building a network from top to bottom while customizing it to fit the clients needs. A solutions associate is certified to maintain a system that is already in place. Both are invaluable when providing IT solutions for your company if you have a Microsoft software platform.

5. CCNA Certification – Cisco Certified Network Associate

A CCNA certification provides your IT team with the basic foundations of Cisco’s network. As with other technology certifications, the CCNA certification program has also undergone changes to stay relevant with advancing software. There are many CCNA focuses that have evolved over the years, including routing and switching, collaboration, wireless, and security. A CCNA certification is imperative when your company uses Cisco network components.

6. VCP Certification – VMware Certified Professional

The VCP certification is a VMware certification that trains IT providers in upgrading, installing and maintaining virtual machines and apps. If your company uses virtualization, this certification will ensure your IT provider will be able to properly troubleshoot your issues and keep your operating system running smoothly.

Revolution Group’s Managed Services team values higher learning and continuous growth through certifications, enabling them to be highly specialized IT providers. To learn more, call us at 614-212-1111.

Managed IT Services

Managed IT Services

CIO level expertise, managed technology services, and strategic IT support delivered with a smile.
Managed IT Services Columbus Ohio
Plex Smart Manufacturing Platform™

Plex Services

Comprehensive ERP and MES consulting services including system selection and deployment, optimization, extended application development and systems integration.

Plex Systems